BLVD House, Kuala Lumpur

image

BLVD is one of those restaurants in KL that’s highly hyped-up by media-influencers. Being a seductive destination for many restaurant lovers, i always thought it would be difficult to just walk into the restaurant without a reservation. Fortunately, other than  during peak hours, weekends or public holidays, i found that there’s not much difficulty to get a table without prior reservation. After discovering that BLVD is literally a 10-minute drive away from my apartment, I arranged to have a little Sunday breakfast with my best friend and my little brother to see what all the fuss is about.

image

Decor: Imagine a more upscale, urban and contemporary brasserie. That sums up BLVD. Although BLVD exudes class and sophistication, the restaurant is by no means intimidating, as it still manages to maintain family-friendly atmospherics. The carefully curated playlist of classic show tunes playing in the background filled my mind with a sense of nostalgia for my childhood, inspiring warmth and joy. I automatically feel at ease, relaxed and couldn’t wait to dine. What better way to encourage patrons to revisit a restaurant than evoking happy emotions in them, am i right ?

image

image

Food Orders: The breakfast menu selection is pretty extensive. It took all three of us a good 15-minute to render a decision. In the end, we went with some breakfast classics : a huge portion of BLVD Jumbo BrekkyFluffy Pancake Stacks and Pulled Duck and Mushroom Omelette.

image

image

image

image

image

Food Verdict: I thoroughly enjoyed my pancake stack! This is probably evident from the picture of me gleaming with utter content. The pancakes were indeed fluffy (as the name suggests)not too thick and not too thin. Overall it’s close to perfection! My tiny complaint is the same at almost every other restaurant serving pancakes- NEED. MORE. SYRUP. But that’s a personal preference of course. Personally, i like my pancakes to be drenched in maple syrup or chocolate sauce.

As for the two other savoury dishes which Iman and my brother ordered, I found the Pulled Duck swings perilously close to being overly salty. The Jumbo Brekky on the other hand,  although big and tasty, did not leave a lingeringly impressive impression on me. If you have a hearty, carnivorous appetite like my brother, then you’ll find the Jumbo Brekky a satisfying meal that’s worth the high price tag.

image

image

image

Outfit details:

  • Silver Frost dUCk scarf
  • Schmiley Mo Adabelle Top
  • FV Basics Mia Pants
  • Celine Micro Luggage Tote
  • Charles and Keith white wedges
Leave a Reply

