February Favourites

 

image

Ahh monthly favourites. One of my most searched Youtube videos to watch at the end of each month. February has been a pretty slow month for me not only work wise, but also in terms of new beauty discoveries. Who would’ve thought that there would be a month where my lifestyle favourites would be more than my beauty favourites ey?

For the month of February, my beauty favourites are all about products that deeply hydrate the skin.  I’ve only been really besotted with two products this month: the cult favourite SK-II Facial Treatment Essence and a hyaluronic acid serum called Skin Peptoxyl Hydrating B5 Complex. image

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

Since i’m approaching my mid twenties, i’ve decided it’s time to elevate my anti-ageing game and incorporate an essence to slow down the clock that’s ageing my skin. I personally believe that prevention is better than cure and my advice is to start taking steps to prevent ageing as early as possible. I was hesitant to shell out my money on such an expensive product but my skin’s health is a priority for me so i don’t mind  investing in something if it truly works in keeping my skin healthy and happy.

image

So the first thing i love about the SK-II essence is how easily it sinks into my skin. I hate essences that leave behind a sticky, tacky afterfeel and the SK-II one absorbs instantly into the skin, making it feel soft and quenched, minus the stickiness. Most importantly, i love the SK-II for calming down the redness on my skin. I usually have red splotches on my face after cleansing and this little gem managed to take away that redness and provide a translucency that cannot be mimicked by any other product. With regards to its ability to reverse ageing, i can’t really attest to that simply because i don’t have any prominent wrinkles or other major signs of ageing to monitor at this moment. What i do hope is that this product would do its best at keeping those signs of ageing at bay for as long as possible!

Skin Peptoxyl Hydrating B5 Complex

Moving onto my second beauty favourite of the month, i foresee a hyaluronic acid serum (or a serum containing hyaluronic acid) being a firm skincare staple on my vanity. To be honest, i’m not particularly fond of this specific hyaluronic acid serum. The hyaluronic acid serum i tried before Skin Peptoxyl was more to my liking. But i include this as a favourite for it’s high hyaluronic acid  content rather than exclaiming any kind of fondness for this particular brand.

image

I’m sure everyone is well aware of how amazing hyaluronic acid (HA) is at deeply hydrating the skin. HA is essentially a humectant that naturally binds moisture to the skin. Sufficiently hydrated skin not only eradicates dryness and reduces excess oil production, it   also ensures normal skin type that’s smooth and glowing. This is because a smooth and plumped skin reflects light better than a skin with textural imperfections. Since hyaluronic acid is naturally present in the human body, it’s not an allergen. Hence, there is no risk of skin irritation, making it safe to use on all skin types. I’ll probably do a blog post soon to explain the benefits and mechanisms of hyaluronic acid in more detail.

It’s been a few months now since i religiously use a hyaluronic acid serum day and night on my skin and I have to say, using a HA serum coupled with the SK-II essence have improved the quality of my skin significantly! My pores are barely visible, oil production have decreased to a minimum and i no longer have any dry patches on my skin! I already have my eyes on another serum containing not just hyaluronic acid, but also skin-brightening ingredients. So i will be updating on that soon!

image

Diptyque Tubereuse candle

Lifestyle favourites dominated this month for sure! When i was at Diptyque the other day looking for my besties’ birthday present, I decided to pick up Diptyque Tubereuse candle because  other than jasmine, it’s one of my favourite scents in the world. Tuberose has a resembling look and smell to jasmine, albeit it’s a tad sweeter than jasmine and a little more complex, which is why i have a special little place for tuberose-scented things in my heart.

img_1419

Diptyque Do Son

I also decided to pick up Diptyque Do Son perfume because of it’s dominant tuberose note. Fragrance wise, this Diptyque perfume bears a striking resemblance to my signature tuberose perfume that i had before, which i had to forego because it was discontinued in Malaysia. So when i found out Diptyque also makes tuberose-scented eau de toilette and eau de parfum, there was not the slightest bit of tentativeness in my decision to purchase it alongside the candle!

Naelofar Lady Warda

How is it i only just discovered how amazing is Naelofar Lady Warda scarf?! I only recently gave this scarf a proper look when i was at Publika one day for brunch and decided to casually check out Naelofar’s new boutique there. Naelofar’s Lady Warda is made from Korean chiffon and this material is now officially my favourite scarf material! Not only is it oh so soft and cooling to the touch, it also envelops the contours of my face effortlessly. In addition, the unique half-moon cut that i’ve never seen done by other hijab companies elicits much praise from me; the dainty swarovski white pearls embellishing the sides of the scarf makes Lady Warda all the more perfect (have i mention i love all things pearls?). Suffice it to say, this scarf line is a standout favourite of mine out of all the other Naelofar collections available.

Ted Baker Valda Bow Pencil Case

I just had to make a quick mention of my last lifestyle favourite which is a Ted Baker pencil case that I’ve had for a while now. After graduating from uni i find myself not really needing my usual giant pencil case like i used to. Hence, this long, slim and chic Ted Baker case comes in handy because it’s just the right size for me to carry around in my handbag when I’m heading to a meeting, without taking up too much space.

img_1417

So that’s my February favourites done and dusted. Can’t wait for more new discoveries in March!

Leave a Reply

