Sprinkle and Sparkle

img_2038

I’m all about achieving a fresh, bright visage. These brightening powders are my go-to’s when i feel like my face needs a little bit of an iridescent glow and a radiance boost .

img_2042

La Mer ‘The Powder’

First up (and the most expensive of the lot i might add) is this La Mer ‘The Powder’. I find myself reaching for this the most on a day-to-day basis. Not only because i’m obsessed with the beautiful finish, but also because this loose powder is infused with La Mer’s famous ‘miracle broth’. La Mer’s miracle broth is said to help renew and restore the skin, making me feel good that i’m using a makeup-skincare hybrid. The powder has a smidgen of coverage, as i find it does even out my skin tone slightly. There are also fine shimmer particles present that would be visible only upon very close inspection of the face, which is why i’m not perturbed by the presence of the shimmer particles. The high price tag seems justified to me because i know i’m benefitting not only from how this product beautifies my skin externally, but also from how it’s nourishing my skin internally.

img_2049

Bobbi Brown Brightening Finishing Powder ‘Porcelain Pearl’

This one is an old favourite. When i was in the UK, my skin was really dry. And when your skin is dry, it tends to lack a radiant glow. So when i was at Harvey Nichols browsing the Bobbi Brown counter one day, i explained my predicament to the sales assistant. She recommended two products that day: Bobbi Brown’s Tinted Moisturising Balm to address the dryness and this brightening powder to set my face.

She tried both products on my face and i was immediately impressed with the result! My face was GLOWING ! It looked so plumped and well hydrated i couldn’t believe my eyes! Needless to say, i bought both products on the spot. I got quite a few compliments on how healthy my skin looks (even during the dead of winter!) when i was wearing these two products. I no longer use the moisturising balm now because my skin is more normal-combination instead of dry. The balm is pretty heavy duty stuff for Malaysia’s hot and humid climate. However, i’m still loyal to this brightening powder. I’ve hit pan on my first one and have already repurchased it again! I reach for this whenever i feel like my skin needs a little oomph. In addition, this brightening powder is also another makeup-skincare hybrid, as it’s packed with hyaluronic acid, antioxidants and actual skin-brightening ingredients.

img_2039Physician’s Formula Mineral Correcting Powder ‘Creamy Natural’

I’ve been wanting to get my hands on something from Physician’s Formula (PF) ever since i heard a couple of American Youtubers raving about some of their products a few years back. Physician’s Formula is a brand created by Dr. Frank Candall for people with sensitive skin (hence the name). Naturally, i was drawn to the brand because the ingredients used in all of PF’s products are talc-free, hypoallergenic, fragrance-free, paraben-free and dermatologist approved.  Some PF products are even recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation! You will also be happy to know that Physician’s Formula is a drug-store brand. I picked mine up from Watsons at Pavillion KL. I use this powder mainly as an undereye brightener and this product does an incredible job at setting the concealer around my eyes and brightening that area without creasing or making my undereyes look powdery-dry. The minimalist ingredient list gives me an additional sense of relief that i’m not irritating my eyes with harsh chemicals.

img_2041

Honest Beauty Luminizing Powder ‘Midnight Reflection’

Of course i had to include an all-natural product in this blog post. Introducing Honest Beauty’s Luminizing Powder! Honest Beauty is a cosmetic brand created by the ever so beautiful Jessica Alba. Jessica Alba has been at the forefront of advocating the importance of using safe and natural products, which led her to create The Honest Company, a subscription e-commerce business model. Honest Beauty is her cosmetics line that aims to offer beauty products that are safer,  at an accessible price point,  with a beautiful design and performance. When Jess first launched Honest Beauty, i couldn’t wait to get my hands on all the makeup products! Now, i have six of her lip crayons, a powder, a tinted moisturiser and two eye palettes! For this blog post, the powder will take centre stage. This luminizing powder is very similar to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in the sense that it’s a silky baked face powder that gives your skin an instant, healthy-looking glow. The shimmers in this powder, like the Hourglass powder, is very fine. Almost undetectable in fact when used as an all-over finishing powder. This is one of the products that i reach for on my only-wear-natural-products days.

What are your glowy-face essentials?

 

Leave a Reply

