Bright-eyed

img_2230

I don’t categorise myself as one of those girls who perpetually suffer from unfortunate dark circles or eye bags. But let’s be honest here, on some mornings, i do need some help to make myself look more awake and bright-eyed. So here are some of my morning saviours when i want to conceal the fact that i had too little  beauty sleep the night before.

img_2227

Marc Jacobs Beauty Remedy Concealer Pen (#1 Rendezvous)

My first step in attempting to erase dark circles is to use a corrector. This little guy has been my firm go-to for quite some time now. Marc Jacobs describe this pen as an all-in-one eraser, brightener and corrector to diminish signs of fatigue and ageing. I like to use this concealer pen as my first step because the peachy-salmon undertone effectively neutralises and corrects undereye discolourations, instantly creating a fresh, well-rested look. Furthermore, i love how the light texture doesn’t emphasise any dryness that i may have and doesn’t  look cakey or settles into fine lines. To encapsulate how perfect this concealer pen is, it’s also a makeup-skincare hybrid! The fact that this gem is infused with skin-plumping hyaluronic acid, coconut water, vitamins, green tea, caffeine and collagen just make this expensive purchase a worthy investment.

img_2228

Estée Lauder Brush-On Glow BB Highlighter (Extra Light)

To be completely honest, the Marc Jacobs concealer pen is enough to correct and brighten my undereyes. Although, layering this Estée Lauder highlighter pen on top of the Marc Jacobs one just brightens your eyes to a whole other level! I especially like to layer this whenever i know i’m going to be photographed that day. There’s no glitter or shimmer particles in this highlighter whatsoever so it looks more natural on the skin. Besides using this highlighter under my eyes, i  also like to use this on my brow bone and nose bridge.

img_2231

Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer (Light Warm)

Now if i really needed extra coverage (which is quite rare in fact), then this concealer is my preferred choice since it contains collagen-boosting peptides, decent amount of coverage and not as drying as other concealers like the Nars Creamy Concealer, the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind just to name a few.

Physician’s Formula Mineral Correcting Powder (Creamy Natural)

It’s no surprise that this brightening powder makes an appearance based on my rave review of it on my previous blog post. I like to use this powder on its own  under my eyes sometimes without any correctors or concealers, especially when i just need a little something to perk up that area. Using this as a setting powder for my undereyes works like a dream too. Less is more in this case.

BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter (Opal)

I like to add this highlighter under my eyes, especially just below and along the lash line area to create that Korean ‘aegyo sal’ look, which is touted as a youthful fullness that occurs naturally in the skin just below the lower lashes of the eyes. I find that doing this makes my eyes look bigger and adds definition.

img_2239

img_2240

What do you do to brighten up your day ?

Leave a Reply

